On this page:
Branches can be created from every page from within the actions menu if branching is not disabled by the space admin or restricted to specific users or groups (see restrictions). You need to have the permissions to create and edit pages in the space where the page-to-be-branched is located.
To merge a branch back into the original page either use the 'Merge' link from within the actions menu or click on the original page name in the branch info text to open a dialog where you can click the Merge button. In order to do this you need to have the permissions to view the original page, as well as edit the branched page and original page. If archiving is active, you also need to have the permission to create pages in the space where merged pages are archived to. If archiving is not active, you also need to have the permission to delete the branched page. If you aren't allowed to merge a branch due to missing permissions, you won't see the 'Merge' button.
If the content of the original page has been modified, the branch can be updated to adopt these changes. Click on the original page name in the branch info text to open a dialog and click the 'Update' button. In order to do this you need to have the permission to view and edit the branch as well as view the original page.
Restricting Viewing Or Editing Branches
To restrict branches from either being viewed entirely or being edited, use the Confluence restrictions dialog like on any other page.
Restricting Who Can Create Branches
To restrict which users or groups can create branches in a space, simply add view permissions to the 'Branches' parent page. The parent page is created with the first branch in a space and can be found via the space shortcut or in the page tree directly under the home page.
Branches are moved to the trash by default when merging a branch. However, a space administrator can enable branch archiving within the Add-ons → Page Branching page in the Space Tools and configure an archive space. After that, a branch will be moved to that archive space instead of to the trash. Keep in mind that users need to have the permission to create pages in the archive space in order for them to be able to merge pages when archiving is activated.
Disabling Page Branching
A space administrator can disable Page Branching in their respective space within the Add-ons → Page Branching page in the Space Tools.
Page Branching provides a REST interface in order to branch a specific page using a POST request. Further information about the endpoints will follow below:
The following headers need to be present for each request:
- Content-Type: application/json
- Authorization: Basic Auth with Confluence User (Example: Basic dXNlcjpwYXNzd29yZA==)
The endpoint requires the following parameters in JSON Format:
- ID of the page that shall be branched
- Branch name for the branched page
If the branching has been successful, the new page ID of the branched page will be returned. In case of failure, an error message will be displayed.
Branching via the REST interface still requires Page Branching to be enabled in the corresponding space as well as an authenticated user to have all required permissions.
Page Branching also provides a REST endpoint to merge branches back into the original page:
The Endpoint requires the following parameters in JSON Format:
- ID of the page that shall be merged
Merging is only possible if no merging conflicts occur. In case of successful merging, a HTTP response 200 will be sent.
- Our Page Branching Service Desk - the best way to reach us if you are having problems or want to suggest a new feature.
- Atlassian Community with lots of answered questions.
- Contact Scandio.
- All information on our apps.
Please note that Page Branching for Confluence is incompatible with Scroll Versions for Confluence.
Download Page Branching
from the Atlassian Marketplace!
- No labels